Thomas V. O’Halloran, PhD

Dr. Thomas V. O’Halloran leads a highly interdisciplinary research group which works across the areas of chemical synthesis, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology, endocrinology, oncology and cell biology. In his role of the Director of the Chemistry of Life Processes Institute at Northwestern University, Professor O’Halloran administers and leads teams from across the fields of science, engineering and medicine. He also serves as the Associate Director for the Basic Sciences Research Division of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center. In 1986, he joined the faculty of Northwestern University where he is currently the Morrison Professor in the Department of Chemistry and in the Department of Molecular Bioscience. His research interests focus on the biological chemistry of inorganic elements, particularly their regulatory roles in controlling cell growth and differentiation, This work involved the discovery of new classes of soluble metal receptors: DNA-binding metalloregulatory and metallochaperone proteins that have led to the development of new agents for treatment of cancer and infectious disease. He has applied inorganic signaling processes to the discovery of a new and central role for the metal zinc during cell growth and the development of the mammalian egg. Dr. O’Halloran’s work has been published in a wide variety of journals including Cell, Science, Nature, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Clinical Cancer Research, Inorganic Chemistry and Biochemistry, and he is an inventor on a number of patents. His work has been funded by NIH, NCI, NIGMS, the Keck Foundation, NSF, the Department of Defense and the ALS Association. Dr. O’Halloran is the cofounder of several biotech companies and has received numerous awards including Fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the Teacher Scholar Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Schering-Plough Scientific Achievement Award, the David Danks Award, the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation, the MERIT Award from National Institutes of Health and the Searle Scholars Award from the Chicago Community Trust.